General Assembly Meeting Minutes March 28th, 2013 3:33 p.m. - Board Room

The meeting was called to order by President Ashley Smith.

Members Present: 63 - see attached sign in sheet – a quorum was established.

I. Bethany Bassett read the minutes from April 25, 2012. No comments or suggestions for changes were made. The minutes were approved as written.

II. The Policy Committees presented summaries of their meetings throughout the year. The following people presented for each committee: Bruce Turkal – Faculty/Staff Affairs, Bill Currier – Student Affairs, Bob Gregory – Curriculum Review, Greg Reed – Admissions/Public Relations, Greg Reed – Long Range Planning, JaNan Abernathy – Fiscal Affairs/Facilities, Larry Hankins – Technology, Dan McElderry – Campus Safety.

III. President Ashley Smith sent out an e-mail to all faculty/staff with proposed amendments to the constitution.

- A. President Ashley Smith presented the proposed amendment under "Curriculum Review Committee" to instead read as "two faculty members, one of which must be the department chair or his/her designee, each from Humanities, Mathematics, and Science departments." Bob Gregory made a motion to accept the amendment. The motion was seconded. Motion carried.
- B. President Ashley Smith presented the proposed amendment under "Fiscal Affairs/Facilities Committee" to remove the administration positions, with the exception of the Director of Finance, from the committee. No motion was made to accept the amendment. There was a unanimous vote to not accept the amendment.
- C. President Ashley Smith presented the proposed amendment under "Campus Safety Committee" to add "the Network Administrator or his/her designee." Jack Waddell made a motion to accept the amendment. The motion was seconded. Motion carried.

IV. President Ashley Smith opened the floor for nominations for 2013-2014 Governing Council President. Dan Kostopulos nominated Jim Luba. No other nominations were made. President Ashley Smith closed nominations. Jim Luba was elected President.

V. President Ashley Smith opened the floor for nominations for the 2013-2014 Governing Council Vice President. Brian Isbell nominated Ron Luckow. No other nominations were made. President Ashley Smith closed nominations. Ron Luckow was elected Vice President.

VI. President Ashley Smith opened the floor for nominations for 2013-2014 Governing Council Secretary. Dan Kostopulos nominated Bethany Bassett. She declined. John Wilson nominated Brenna Orellana. She declined. Abijah Kratochvil nominated Stephanie Rizzo. She accepted. No other nominations were made. President Ashley Smith closed nominations. Stephanie Rizzo was elected Secretary.

VII. Bob Gregory made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:17pm. Submitted by Bethany Bassett, Secretary

Approved: Date _____